The Seven Deadly Sins: Grudge of Edinburgh release date revealed

Netflix has announced the release date for the upcoming first part of the new two-part film in The Seven Deadly Sins franchise titled The Seven Deadly Sins: Grudge of Edinburgh with a new trailer revealed last weekend. The trailer reveals the film’s December 20 release date while featuring the film’s theme song titled “Lemonade” by Hiroyuki Sawano and Kohta Yamamoto.

The upcoming film is the first of a two-part project and features an all-new original story from the original manga’s author, Nakaba Suzuki. The new film is set 14 years after the defeat of the Demon Clan and centers not on Meliodas, but on his son, Tristan.

The story of The Seven Deadly Sins: Grudge of Edinburgh is set 14 years after Liones’ triumph over the Demon Clan, and follows Prince Tristan, a youth who struggles to control the great power he has inherited from both sides: the healing powers of the Goddesses inherited from his mother, Elizabeth; and the Demon Clan’s destructive potential inherited from his father, Meliodas. When his mother’s life is threatened, Tristan flees to Edinburgh, the residence of an individual known as Deathpierce – a former member of a group of holy knights: the Pleiades of the Azure Sky.

The Seven Deadly Sins: Grudge of Edinburgh will be a collaborative production between Alfred Imageworks and Marvy Jack, under the direction of Bob Shirohata, director of Ranma 1/2 episodes supervised by the director of the original BLEACH anime series, Noriyuki Abe.

The screenplay is by Rintarou Ikeda, while the musical composition will be the domain of Hiroyuki Sawano and Kohta Yamamoto, best known for their work on the soundtrack for the hit anime series Attack on Titan.

The actors announced to be part of the upcoming Grudge of Edinburgh movie include the cast from the original series reprising their roles. Yuki Kaji, returns, reprising his role as Meliodas from the original series; with Amamiya Sora doing the same with Elizabeth; Jun Fukuyama with King; Aoi Yuki returns as Diane; Tatsuhisa Suzuki is the undead ban again and Yuuhei Takagi returns as Gowther. The original cast is joined by various newcomers to the franchise, such as Koki Uchiyama playing the role of an unnamed fairy; Yohei Azakami as Deathpierce; Makoto Koichi as Minika.